Forget Shameful: Celebrity Gossip

Award season is once again upon us, and thus my cold and somewhat callous heart could almost explode from the joy of watching film nerds rubbing elbows with Tilda Swinton, sparkly dresses, and an open bar all in one glorious evening.

It’s the most wonderful time of the year. After all, it’s the only season when the people that you really care about all come together to reflect on the best of the year.

What’s that you say? Something about families and the holidays?

Meh.

I said the people you really care about.

It’s okay. We are in a safe place here. Just say it with me: you don’t care about your second-cousin’s-uncle’s son at all. But I guarantee you would probably at least click on article about Gwen Stefani’s son. And if you’re at all like me—you are probably thinking, “Which son? Gwen has two.”

Because according to this month’s Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, I’m not alone in my sick love of celebrity gossip.  According to those crazy geniuses at Berkeley, a few minutes of celebrity gossip releases more stress than actually going outside and breathing in the fresh air. And get this—reading about someone else’s failures was found to be even extra helpful in relieving stress. (I’m not making this up. This is SCIENCE.). So, to those of you who have been living in secret, basking in Tinseltown’s latest failure at life, I say welcome.

Here at Broads of the Beltway, we like to encourage healthy behaviors for all our readers, especially when that includes prescribed Jersey Shore recaps. So here’s a breakdown of the best celebrity gossip sites on the interweb:

Lainey Gossip

Need to know why Rachel McAdams always seems to pick rom-com flops? Curious why Anne Hathaway is suddenly showing off a new fiancé?

Look no further.

Lainey knows all, and often before the major publications will even touch a story.

Go Fug Yourself

People often ask me (okay, not really) whose writing inspires me. I would probably say Jonathan Safren Foer, Dave Edggers, or maybe Kurt Vonnegut if I was feeling extra pretentious.

But that’s not entirely accurate.

If a writing genie (preferably voiced by Robin Williams) appeared to me, I would instantly use one of my wishes to have Heather and Jessica’s from Go Fug Yourself’s job.

And I would die a happy, albeit slightly snarkier, girl.

Because Heather and Jessica write reviews of celebrity’s clothes the way Mozart played the Electric Boogaloo (I’m guessing). For example, they recently referred to this outfit of Meryl’s as a “Sexy Temple Grandin.”

I rest my case.

D-listed

I personally find this blog a little mean. But Tina Fey gives the writer frequent shout outs in interviews for being hilarious, and who am I to argue with the woman who photo bombed Amy Poehler at the Golden Globes?

–  A ‘Snooki Stress Reliever Believer’ Lindsay

About Lindsay Golder

Freelance writer, book-fiend, lover of shamefully bad films regularly featured on TBS or TNT.

4 Responses to “Forget Shameful: Celebrity Gossip”

  1. You have just given me so many more blogs to read. Thank you, wise one…

  2. By the way, photo-bombing is an art… I’ll reference our COS conference/ toga night.

  3. So glad science can back me up when I tell my boss celeb gossip site lollygagging is for the benefit of my health.

Leave a Reply

