Movie Magic: A Love Story

My love for movies started long ago, and love means never having to say you’re sorry.*

It doesn’t matter if the movie is highbrow or lowbrow to me…I can quote Wayne’s World as seriously as any Stanley Kubrick.  And with much more heightened glee.

I’ve spent much of my life angling to try to make my reality more closely resemble my favorite films and television shows.  I am perpetually saddened that I never got to climb a ladder into Dawson’s room to watch a Spielberg film. I wish I could have gotten into Harvard Law with my blonde hair and big breasts alone. I’d even be epileptic if I could be Natalie Portman charming my way into every viewer’s heart in Garden State.

Because film is the last place where magic truly exists.

So you see why I just don’t get it when others do not share the same passion for film as I do.

Sure, you pay too much for tickets and drinks, but you are being invited into something bigger than you.

It’s an event. It’s a story.

For two blessed hours your problems don’t matter. During those 90-120 minutes you are transported to a world where everything is probably going to turn out all right. Batman is going to save Gotham once again. The boneheaded guy is going to realize he’s been in love with his best gal all along. And the ugly girl is finally going to get a film makeover (i.e. ditch the glasses and get a hair cut) and become the beautiful princess we all just knew she secretly was.

And guess what? It’s all for you.

The magic onscreen is unfurling just for you. You are in a safe world, and all you have to do is sit back and enjoy.

Box office ticket sales have been reported to have risen 13% this summer of 2011, and I really don’t think the words “Cowboys” or “Aliens” have much to do with it. I think just maybe I’m not alone after all. Maybe other people are looking for a little magic to survive life in this current shiteous economy. Maybe folks were even looking for some literal magic through the final Harry Potter. Or maybe they just wanted to be, even for 90 minutes at a time, invited to a world that still seems safe; a world where everything turns out all right in the end.

The National Harbor in Metro DC offers a free chance for a little movie magic every Saturday and Sunday through September 30th.  Open to the public; bring a picnic blanket and snacks to enjoy an outdoor showing of some Hollywood’s classics and latest hits.  For more information, check out their website here.

– Lindsay

* “Love means never having to say you’re sorry” is a quote originally from the 1970 film Love Story. It is also completely untrue.
But this quote first came into my life through the awesome 1995 film, Now and Then (which if you haven’t seen, turn on your Netflix Instant Watch right now).

About Lindsay Golder

Freelance writer, book-fiend, lover of shamefully bad films regularly featured on TBS or TNT.

One Response to “Movie Magic: A Love Story”

  1. Ooh de lally- free films! Thanks broads of the b

Leave a Reply

